Grain
Oat bran (cooked) Nutrition Facts
USDA description: Oat bran, cooked
Per 100 g, Oat bran (cooked) provides 40 calories. A typical portion, 1 cup (219 g), has 88 calories, 7 g protein, 25 g carbs and 1.9 g fat.
- calories
- 40
- protein
- 3.2 g
- carbs
- 11 g
- fat
- 0.9 g
Per 100 g.
Calories and macros per serving
Serving weights are USDA's own for this record; each value is the per-100 g amount scaled to that weight. % = share of the FDA Daily Value.
| Serving | Calories | Protein | Carbs | Fat | Fiber | Sugars |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 100 g | 402% | 3.2 g6% | 11 g4% | 0.9 g1% | 2.6 g9% | n/r |
| 1 cup219 g | 884% | 7 g14% | 25 g9% | 1.9 g2% | 5.7 g20% | n/r |
Calories in kcal. n/r = not reported for this food.
Raw, cooked and other forms
Cooking changes water content, so values per 100 g shift. Each row is its own USDA record.
| Form (per 100 g) | Calories | Protein | Carbs | Fat |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oat bran (cooked) (this page) | 40 | 3.2 g | 11 g | 0.9 g |
| Oat bran (raw) | 246 | 17 g | 66 g | 7 g |
How Oat bran ranks among grains
Rank 1 = the most of that nutrient among the grains on CalorieExplorer. Per 200 kcal shows nutrient density: how much you get for the same calories.
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per 200 kcal |
|---|---|---|
| Protein | 3.2 g#56 of 59 grains | 16 g#1 of 59 grains |
| Fiber | 2.6 g#33 of 49 grains | 13 g#3 of 49 grains |
| Potassium | 92 mg#44 of 59 grains | 460 mg#3 of 59 grains |
| Calcium | 10 mg#46 of 59 grains | 50 mg#9 of 59 grains |
| Iron | 0.88 mg#53 of 59 grains | 4.4 mg#3 of 59 grains |
| Magnesium | 40 mg#30 of 59 grains | 200 mg#2 of 59 grains |
Macronutrient Breakdown
Compared with the median of grains
Per 100 g; median of the 58 grains with a value.
- Calories
- Oat bran: 40 kcalmedian: 293 kcal
- Protein
- Oat bran: 3.2 gmedian: 9.8 g
- Carbs
- Oat bran: 11 gmedian: 55 g
- Fat
- Oat bran: 0.9 gmedian: 2.1 g
- Fiber
- Oat bran: 2.6 gmedian: 3.9 g
Vitamins and minerals
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | %DV | Per 1 cup (219 g) | %DV |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saturated fat | 0.2 g | 1% | 0.4 g | 2% |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg | 0% |
| Sodium | 1 mg | <1% | 2.2 mg | <1% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg | 0% | 0 µg | 0% |
| Calcium | 10 mg | 1% | 22 mg | 2% |
| Iron | 0.88 mg | 5% | 1.9 mg | 11% |
| Potassium | 92 mg | 2% | 201 mg | 4% |
| Vitamin A (RAE) | 0 µg | 0% | 0 µg | 0% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg | 0% |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.16 mg | 13% | 0.35 mg | 29% |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.03 mg | 3% | 0.07 mg | 6% |
| Niacin (B3) | 0.14 mg | 1% | 0.32 mg | 2% |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.03 mg | 1% | 0.05 mg | 3% |
| Folate (approx.) | 6 µg | 2% | 13 µg | 3% |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 µg | 0% | 0 µg | 0% |
| Phosphorus | 119 mg | 10% | 261 mg | 21% |
| Magnesium | 40 mg | 10% | 88 mg | 21% |
| Zinc | 0.53 mg | 5% | 1.2 mg | 11% |
| Selenium | 7.7 µg | 14% | 17 µg | 31% |
| Copper | 0.07 mg | 7% | 0.14 mg | 16% |
| Manganese | 0.96 mg | 42% | 2.1 mg | 92% |
Not reported in this USDA record: Trans fat, Vitamin E, Vitamin K.
Source: U.S. Department of Agriculture, FoodData Central, FDC ID 168873 (SR Legacy, April 2018 final release). Values per 100 g as published in that record, imported 2026-03-13; serving weights from the same record, retrieved 2026-10-13.
% Daily Value: FDA Daily Values (2016 Nutrition Facts label rule, 21 CFR 101.9), adults and children 4+. Ranks compare the foods of the same category on this site. How we calculate.
Last updated . Values are averages for the food as described; brands, varieties and cooking change them. Not medical advice.