Grain
Oat bran (raw) Nutrition Facts
USDA description: Oat bran, raw
Per 100 g, Oat bran (raw) provides 246 calories. A typical portion, 1 cup (94 g), has 231 calories, 16 g protein, 62 g carbs and 6.6 g fat.
- calories
- 246
- protein
- 17 g
- carbs
- 66 g
- fat
- 7 g
Per 100 g.
Calories and macros per serving
Serving weights are USDA's own for this record; each value is the per-100 g amount scaled to that weight. % = share of the FDA Daily Value.
| Serving | Calories | Protein | Carbs | Fat | Fiber | Sugars |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 100 g | 24612% | 17 g35% | 66 g24% | 7 g9% | 15 g55% | 1.5 g |
| 1 cup94 g | 23112% | 16 g33% | 62 g23% | 6.6 g8% | 14 g52% | 1.4 g |
Calories in kcal. n/r = not reported for this food.
Raw, cooked and other forms
Cooking changes water content, so values per 100 g shift. Each row is its own USDA record.
| Form (per 100 g) | Calories | Protein | Carbs | Fat |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oat bran (raw) (this page) | 246 | 17 g | 66 g | 7 g |
| Oat bran (cooked) | 40 | 3.2 g | 11 g | 0.9 g |
How Oat bran ranks among grains
Rank 1 = the most of that nutrient among the grains on CalorieExplorer. Per 200 kcal shows nutrient density: how much you get for the same calories.
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per 200 kcal |
|---|---|---|
| Protein | 17 g#1 of 59 grains | 14 g#2 of 59 grains |
| Fiber | 15 g#5 of 49 grains | 13 g#4 of 49 grains |
| Potassium | 566 mg#2 of 59 grains | 460 mg#2 of 59 grains |
| Calcium | 58 mg#11 of 59 grains | 47 mg#11 of 59 grains |
| Iron | 5.4 mg#4 of 59 grains | 4.4 mg#4 of 59 grains |
| Magnesium | 235 mg#2 of 59 grains | 191 mg#3 of 59 grains |
Macronutrient Breakdown
Compared with the median of grains
Per 100 g; median of the 58 grains with a value.
- Calories
- Oat bran: 246 kcalmedian: 293 kcal
- Protein
- Oat bran: 17 gmedian: 9.7 g
- Carbs
- Oat bran: 66 gmedian: 54 g
- Fat
- Oat bran: 7 gmedian: 2.1 g
- Fiber
- Oat bran: 15 gmedian: 3.7 g
Vitamins and minerals
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | %DV | Per 1 cup (94 g) | %DV |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saturated fat | 1.3 g | 7% | 1.2 g | 6% |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg | 0% |
| Sodium | 4 mg | <1% | 3.8 mg | <1% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg | 0% | 0 µg | 0% |
| Calcium | 58 mg | 4% | 55 mg | 4% |
| Iron | 5.4 mg | 30% | 5.1 mg | 28% |
| Potassium | 566 mg | 12% | 532 mg | 11% |
| Vitamin A (RAE) | 0 µg | 0% | 0 µg | 0% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg | 0% |
| Vitamin E | 1 mg | 7% | 0.95 mg | 6% |
| Vitamin K | 3.2 µg | 3% | 3 µg | 3% |
| Thiamin (B1) | 1.2 mg | 98% | 1.1 mg | 92% |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.22 mg | 17% | 0.21 mg | 16% |
| Niacin (B3) | 0.93 mg | 6% | 0.88 mg | 5% |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.17 mg | 10% | 0.16 mg | 9% |
| Folate (approx.) | 52 µg | 13% | 49 µg | 12% |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 µg | 0% | 0 µg | 0% |
| Phosphorus | 734 mg | 59% | 690 mg | 55% |
| Magnesium | 235 mg | 56% | 221 mg | 53% |
| Zinc | 3.1 mg | 28% | 2.9 mg | 27% |
| Selenium | 45 µg | 82% | 42 µg | 77% |
| Copper | 0.4 mg | 45% | 0.38 mg | 42% |
| Manganese | 5.6 mg | 245% | 5.3 mg | 230% |
Not reported in this USDA record: Trans fat.
Source: U.S. Department of Agriculture, FoodData Central, FDC ID 168872 (SR Legacy, April 2018 final release). Values per 100 g as published in that record, imported 2026-03-13; serving weights from the same record, retrieved 2026-10-13.
% Daily Value: FDA Daily Values (2016 Nutrition Facts label rule, 21 CFR 101.9), adults and children 4+. Ranks compare the foods of the same category on this site. How we calculate.
Last updated . Values are averages for the food as described; brands, varieties and cooking change them. Not medical advice.