Grain
Oats Nutrition Facts
USDA description: Oats (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program)
Per 100 g, Oats provides 389 calories. A typical portion, 1 cup (156 g), has 607 calories, 26 g protein, 103 g carbs and 11 g fat.
- calories
- 389
- protein
- 17 g
- carbs
- 66 g
- fat
- 6.9 g
Per 100 g.
Calories and macros per serving
Serving weights are USDA's own for this record; each value is the per-100 g amount scaled to that weight. % = share of the FDA Daily Value.
| Serving | Calories | Protein | Carbs | Fat | Fiber | Sugars |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 100 g | 38919% | 17 g34% | 66 g24% | 6.9 g9% | 11 g38% | n/r |
| 1 cup156 g | 60730% | 26 g53% | 103 g38% | 11 g14% | 17 g59% | n/r |
Calories in kcal. n/r = not reported for this food.
How Oats ranks among grains
Rank 1 = the most of that nutrient among the grains on CalorieExplorer. Per 200 kcal shows nutrient density: how much you get for the same calories.
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per 200 kcal |
|---|---|---|
| Protein | 17 g#2 of 59 grains | 8.7 g#6 of 59 grains |
| Fiber | 11 g#6 of 49 grains | 5.4 g#11 of 49 grains |
| Potassium | 429 mg#4 of 59 grains | 221 mg#7 of 59 grains |
| Calcium | 54 mg#14 of 59 grains | 28 mg#20 of 59 grains |
| Iron | 4.7 mg#6 of 59 grains | 2.4 mg#14 of 59 grains |
| Magnesium | 177 mg#3 of 59 grains | 91 mg#5 of 59 grains |
Macronutrient Breakdown
Compared with the median of grains
Per 100 g; median of the 58 grains with a value.
- Calories
- Oats: 389 kcalmedian: 290 kcal
- Protein
- Oats: 17 gmedian: 9.7 g
- Carbs
- Oats: 66 gmedian: 54 g
- Fat
- Oats: 6.9 gmedian: 2.1 g
- Fiber
- Oats: 11 gmedian: 3.7 g
Vitamins and minerals
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | %DV | Per 1 cup (156 g) | %DV |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saturated fat | 1.2 g | 6% | 1.9 g | 9% |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg | 0% |
| Sodium | 2 mg | <1% | 3.1 mg | <1% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg | 0% | 0 µg | 0% |
| Calcium | 54 mg | 4% | 84 mg | 6% |
| Iron | 4.7 mg | 26% | 7.4 mg | 41% |
| Potassium | 429 mg | 9% | 669 mg | 14% |
| Vitamin A (RAE) | 0 µg | 0% | 0 µg | 0% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg | 0% |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.76 mg | 64% | 1.2 mg | 99% |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.14 mg | 11% | 0.22 mg | 17% |
| Niacin (B3) | 0.96 mg | 6% | 1.5 mg | 9% |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.12 mg | 7% | 0.19 mg | 11% |
| Folate (approx.) | 56 µg | 14% | 87 µg | 22% |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 µg | 0% | 0 µg | 0% |
| Phosphorus | 523 mg | 42% | 816 mg | 65% |
| Magnesium | 177 mg | 42% | 276 mg | 66% |
| Zinc | 4 mg | 36% | 6.2 mg | 56% |
| Copper | 0.63 mg | 70% | 0.98 mg | 109% |
| Manganese | 4.9 mg | 214% | 7.7 mg | 333% |
Not reported in this USDA record: Trans fat, Vitamin E, Vitamin K, Selenium.
Source: U.S. Department of Agriculture, FoodData Central, FDC ID 169705 (SR Legacy, April 2018 final release). Values per 100 g as published in that record, imported 2026-03-13; serving weights from the same record, retrieved 2026-10-13.
% Daily Value: FDA Daily Values (2016 Nutrition Facts label rule, 21 CFR 101.9), adults and children 4+. Ranks compare the foods of the same category on this site. How we calculate.
Last updated . Values are averages for the food as described; brands, varieties and cooking change them. Not medical advice.